Are All Writers Authors? Are All Authors Writers?

4 Oct

author

Obviously, I had too much free time to think of this. And I wanted to bring other people into my world of wandering thoughts.

My thoughts: Many writers are authors, but not all authors are writers.

Many writers have authored books as ghostwriters, but may not have books published under their own names. On the other hand, many people who have earned the title of “author,” hired the writers to create their stories.

What do you think? Are all writers authors? Are all authors writers?

 

Image: howtowriteabookandgetitpublished

5 Responses to “Are All Writers Authors? Are All Authors Writers?”

  1. tamararokicki February 17, 2012 at 10:42 am #

    I think that everyone is a writer. You become an author per se when you are contracted by a publisher and your novel is now sold in print (or digitally, in today’s market). But then again, who defines “author”? And some authors out there as mediocre enough to “demote” them back to just…writer. I haven’t been published yet but I feel as an author. It’s my motivational side telling me that I, too, can be deemed an author if I can surpass the million obstacles and rejection ensnaring millions of writers. It’s just that status, that print sitting on the big chain bookstores.

    There is an author in every writer. It’s one and the same.

    • Marcie Hill February 20, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      Hi Tamara, thank you for stopping through and sharing your thoughts. I think there is a difference only because some writers will never books, even eBooks. And everyone who has a published book is not a writer. The books were written by ghostwriters (I’m waiting for someone to hire me).

      As for your situation, if you tune out the noise ~aka~ negativity, which is mostly coming from yourself, I am certain you will have a published work in no time. And you will be Ms. Tamara, Published Author.

  2. staceykatheryn March 14, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    I’ve written over 22 novels in my unseemly career as an unpublished author, I think I can bear the title and deserve to do so. I think those that are committed to their writing and work hard at it deserve the prestige that goes along with being a hard working person of the written word. Nowadays, I don’t think being published or unpublished has anything to do with it, what with the mix of publishing, self publishing, e-publishing, ghost writing, so on and so forth. It’s commitment and passion. I think the term “author” isn’t generally used to refer to those who write articles or editorials as opposed to books, but that doesn’t mean they don’t deserve recognition either. I think every writer is an author, if they choose to be.

    • Marcie Hill March 15, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      Stacey, thank you for sharing your thoughts on this topic. I wonder, what makes an author these days or do titles even matter?

  3. taketay July 29, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    a very interesting question. hmm

Leave a Reply

