Answer to My Question: Where Are the Black People in Roller Skating?

30 Jan

question mark

The Universe sent a resource to answer my question: Where are the Black People in Roller Skating?

During an interview with someone for my roller skating book, the statement was made that roller skating has always been a white sport. But, it has take over black communities. I get that. At some point throughout history, there was a big huge overflow of roller skating in the black community, but there is very little record of it. That’s what’s so frustrating. It’s so not cool being ignored.

In The Mis-Education of the Negro by Carter G. Woodson, he said that black people were missing from math, science, history and all the other relevant subjects in school, so for them not to be mentioned in sports is not surprising.

Now, back to my reading, writing and research.

Image: commons.wikimedia.org

Leave a comment